Duramax/Allison Transmission Question

hriker

I am still new to the RVing life and have a question about towing our rig. We have a Chevy Silverado 3500 with Duramax Diesel and Allison transmission. My question is regarding the tow haul mode for the transmission. Should we leave the truck in tow haul mode the entire time we are towing? The dealer indicated I could take it out of this mode when we get to highway speed. I have had a question in my mind about what is the proper way to utilize this and what is best for my truck. Any comments and recommendations would be welcome.

Thanks,
Harry

DMitch

I have basically the same truck and I always tow with the tow haul on even at highway speeds. The Allison manual recomends it also so I figure there must be a reason they do.

PhotoPete

I am still new to the RVing life and have a question about towing our rig. We have a Chevy Silverado 3500 with Duramax Diesel and Allison transmission. My question is regarding the tow haul mode for the transmission. Should we leave the truck in tow haul mode the entire time we are towing? The dealer indicated I could take it out of this mode when we get to highway speed. I have had a question in my mind about what is the proper way to utilize this and what is best for my truck. Any comments and recommendations would be welcome.

Thanks,
Harry

I believe the primary intent of the mode is to change shift patterns to accommodate the extra weight you are pulling. This would be seen most graphically in the start / stop nature of city and rural driving. It would also be seen in that zone of highway driving where the transmission wants to jump back and forth from higher to lower gear.