24RBS and 22 FBS loaded tongue weight

rostam

Hi all,

I have a question regarding 24RBS and 22 FBS loaded tongue weights and I greatly appreciate your response.

I know the dry hitch weights for these trailers are listed as 352 and 325 lbs. I was just wondering what the hitch weights are when the trailers are loaded? Which options increase the hitch weight? Also, are you using a WD hitch? If so is the weight of the WD hitch need to be considered as well? (Sorry, but I am new to RV'ing and may be asking a dumb question here!).

Thanks a lot!

danemayer

Hi Rostam,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. We were all newbies at one point, so hang in there. You'll find a lot of useful information here along with a great group of people who are willing to share what they've learned.

I'm sure you'll get some responses pretty quickly.

Manzan

Rostam, the hitch weight should be about 12% of your loaded weight and yes, you should be using a WD hitch and sway control. The only way the weight of the WD hitch could come into play is if you are nearing the rear axle limit on your TV in which case you need a TV with greater towing capacity. Your best bet on getting weights is to take your trailer to a CAT scale. About $10 and well worth it! Lets you know where you are with the GVWR on the trailer also.

rostam

Thanks you all.

I have not bought the trailer yet. I am researching different trailers and one important aspect for me is the tongue weight of the trailer -- I don't want to exceed my vehicle's limit. Hopefully, someone who owns the trailer would provide a figure.

Best

Manzan

Rostam, look at the GVWR of the trailer and figure about 12%-13% of that will be your maximum tongue weight. If your tow vehicle is rated to tow what the GVWR is, you should not have a problem. If not, consider a smaller trailer or bigger TV.

rostam