Preparing for Travel _ Refrigerator

pretzel41

How do you set up to go? My plan is to turn on the gas and refrigerator the night before I pull out. That way the refrig. & freezer will be up to temp. in the morning and I can load my food without using an ice chest.

I'm a rookie so forgive me if this fits into the "Dumb Questions Section!"

Pretzel41

azbound

Refer Travel

Some will tell you not to run your Refer while traveling, others will tell not to worry. I am on my 3rd RV, 1 Motor Home and 2 5ers. I have always traveled with the Refer on LPG and have not had a problem. The danger is that the flame could go out and the gas could build up and create a real problem. Give it a day or so and you while get many opinions, but the decsion is only yours to make.

ct0218

I've traveled with mine on for over 20 years, never had it go out, nor had any problem. Opening the door and loading just before you leave is probably not the best way as it will warm up somewhat with the door open that much. Turn it on 2 days earlier, load the day or night before you leave. These refrigerators have a long temp recovery time.

Forrest Fetherolf

How do you set up to go? My plan is to turn on the gas and refrigerator the night before I pull out. That way the refrig. & freezer will be up to temp. in the morning and I can load my food without using an ice chest.

To help the refrigerator cooling, I empty the house refrigerator ice maker into two plastic bowls, put one in the RV freezer side and one in the RV refrigerator side. I precool all food and drinks in the house refrigerator prior to loading RV. I start refrigerator with electrical (if available) rather than gas, no need to waste propane just for cool down.

Forrest

flyfishing48