Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Shore power conversion

  1. Print this Post   #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    USA - MO
    Posts
    8

    Shore power conversion

    We have a 2018 Heartland Pioneer BH 175 that has a permanently attached 30 amp power cable that is manually fed into an enclosed storage box. Pulling out, itís gotten stuck enough times, figured Iím ready to convert to a detachable shore cable.


    This is the best conversion kit Iíve been able to find so far from Amazon:
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NUYZQC...v_ov_lig_dp_it

    Wanted to see if anyone has done a conversion like this before. Any tips or tricks you could impart, Iíd appreciate. Trying to see if thereís anything that could throw a wrench into the project.

    Thanks!

  2. Print this Post   #2
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    18,992

    Re: Shore power conversion

    You should consider Smart Plug. It's more expensive but has some advantages.


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  3. Print this Post   #3
    Senior Member Jesstruckn/Jesstalkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - CA
    Posts
    4,896

    Re: Shore power conversion

    Ya like Dan suggested, the Smart plug is a much better set up !!!
    Last edited by Jesstruckn/Jesstalkn; 2 Weeks Ago at 12:34 PM.
    The Jess's
    Jerrod & Rhonda
    Zoey (Our Princess of the Palace)
    2015 Landmark 365 Ashland (Project LM 365)
    2008 GMC Sierra 3500 Duramax (retired)
    2017 Ford Super Duty F-350 Platinum

    Link to my 2015 Landmark 365 Ashland Modifications






  4. Print this Post   #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    USA - MO
    Posts
    8

    Re: Shore power conversion

    Thanks for the recommendations! I'll look into that one.

  5. Print this Post   #5
    Senior Member Kathi-27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    USA - GA
    Posts
    380

    Re: Shore power conversion

    for sure the smart plug set up. a lot safer than the regular style
    Ron and Kathi Ludwig

  6. Print this Post   #6
    Heartland: Director of Owners Interests jbeletti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    18,956

    Re: Shore power conversion

    ralioth - I have the SmartPlug system on my current travel trailer and love it.
    IMG_2790.jpg

    Here's a link to more pics of my install.
    Jim Beletti
    Director of Owner Interests
    Heartland RVs

    Index of my Sundance 262 RB Modifications

    Club membership is free and it's easy to join. Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides





  7. Print this Post   #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    USA - MO
    Posts
    8

    Re: Shore power conversion

    I realize it's a difference between my 30 amp and your 50, but that is still pretty beefy looking.

    The only concern I would have is not mounting to an electrical box. The manufacturer doesn't call for one on the install drawings, so maybe I'm being overly cautious.

    Thanks for those pictures. Looks like a solid install!

  8. Print this Post   #8
    Heartland: Director of Owners Interests jbeletti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    18,956

    Re: Shore power conversion

    Quote Originally Posted by ralioth View Post
    I realize it's a difference between my 30 amp and your 50, but that is still pretty beefy looking.

    The only concern I would have is not mounting to an electrical box. The manufacturer doesn't call for one on the install drawings, so maybe I'm being overly cautious.

    Thanks for those pictures. Looks like a solid install!
    The 30A version looks just as beefy (link).

    Super easy to put this inlet in a box "if" you have access to the back side

    Note that I plan to add a second 50A power inlet on another part of the coach and will wire both inlets to an automatic transfer switch.
    Jim Beletti
    Director of Owner Interests
    Heartland RVs

    Index of my Sundance 262 RB Modifications

    Club membership is free and it's easy to join. Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides





  9. Print this Post   #9
    Senior Member esscobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA - TX
    Posts
    487

    Re: Shore power conversion

    on previous trailer I changed the main panel box and converted to 50a used marinco cables and outside connector - been used in boats forever- never had issues and was able to add second a/c and run everything at same time- in s texas summers where its still 90 in the am- it sucks to turn off a/c to run microwave and other appliances etc

    pulling and pushing that cable in the got real old real fast just make a short jumper from junction box where cable is to your new connector-
    2017 bighorn 3760

  10. Print this Post   #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    USA - MO
    Posts
    8

    Re: Shore power conversion

    Quote Originally Posted by esscobra View Post
    pulling and pushing that cable in the got real old real fast just make a short jumper from junction box where cable is to your new connector-
    I hear ya! That is the plan so far.

    Since it's a bunkhouse model, need to lift up the bottom bunk and remove a couple screws to access the main power cable outlet to the side of the camper.

    I appreciate everyone's input. It's been a continuous learning experience for sure.

Similar Threads

  1. no 120v power when on batteries w/o shore power
    By Jimnkarens in forum Inverters / Converters
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-16-2017, 10:33 PM
  2. ATF: Landmark - No 12v power when disconnected from shore power
    By Jim-Evie in forum Landmark - Ask The Factory
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-21-2016, 09:52 AM
  3. Replies: 37
    Last Post: 05-07-2016, 05:03 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-24-2014, 02:03 PM
  5. Solved: Partial Power on Shore Power
    By SocalDD in forum 120 volt AC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-04-2013, 02:26 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •