Lift system surprise

Gandalf

I'm new to 5th wheeling and recently bought a Bighorn 5th wheel with a 6 point Levelup Lippert lift system. I read in the owners manual that I should move my RV at least every 3 mo to prevent flat spotting of the tires. Since my storage lot was snowy and muddy in spots I decided to use the lift system to raise the coach, spin the tires 180 degrees and then lower the coach. For safety, I did hitch up to my truck first and raise the front jacks. I then raised the rear of the coach with the four rear jacks simultaneously. My storage spot seems flat but the two tires on the right side lifted first. I was able to spin the tires 180 degrees with no problem. As I continued lifting the coach the left side tires cleared the ground but as they did the left rear wheel made a mechanical popping sound and appeared to wobble. I was able to spin the tires 180 degrees but the left rear wheel made a light scrapping sound as I turned it. The front left wheel turned with no problem. As I lowered the coach the front left wheel made a similar mechanical popping sound when it touched the ground and it to appeared to wobble. Could the popping and wobbling be caused by the shocks or the leaf springs? I'm sure hoping I did not cause some damage by doing this?

jimtoo

Hi Gandalf,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

If it's been setting for a while I would bet that the noise was just from the springs and shackles moving. But when it warms up and you can get it moved and lifted again you might ask for a little help from someone to get their opinion if your not sure of the noise.

Be sure and check out our Heartland Owners Club. Join us at a rally when you can and meet lots of the great folks here and make friends for a lifetime.

Enjoy the forum.

Jim M

Bones