Stabilize a 5th wheel

vesteroid

I am new to a fifth wheel and want to know about chocking or stabilizing the coach. In the past I have simply used chocks and leveling blocks under the tires on my TT and then put down the stableizers to get it right. This has worked OK depending on how much force I can put on the stablilizers.

On the 5th wheel I assumed with hydralic levelers I could simply get the coach side to side level (or close) with blocks and then simply use the hydralic ones to get her perfect (with varrying blocks under the rear ones since they are in unison).

is this correct?

and do I need one of those things under the hitch pin (tripod looking thing)?

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I think the best way to stabilize your fifth wheel is to use good wheel chocks. Not the yellow plastic thhings. And everyone I have talked to really likes the JT type stabilizers.

Peace
Dave

GOTTOYS

I use set of BAL chocks between the wheels and a pair of BAL (similar to JT) stabilizers to the rear jacks. Not perfect but not bad at all. Most of the people that I have talked to about the front the front tripod type stabilizers aren't real happy with them. I don't want to try and fumble with one....Don

rebootsemi

I went a bought a set of the X Chocks for between the tires on each side and they work great. Seems to take out the little wiggle we used to get with just the chock blocks. Don't use a tri-pod under the front not needed. I have found that it makes a difference of how far out you have the front landing gear and rear jacks. Now I use 6 x 8 blocks on the ground to take up most of the space. The side to side play in the legs does not seem like much until you extend them out a bunch. Your hydraulic legs should not have this problem.

TomSt

Past New Jersey Chapter Leader