Battery Panel Question and Charge Issue

buggyboo16

I am brand new to RVing and cannot seem to find this answer online. When I check my panel for the status of the battery, all 4 LED lights are red. From what I have read, that typically means there is a blown fuse somewhere. Is this correct?

We were on shore power for about 2 weeks and when we tried to pack up and leave, the slides and the jacks would not operate. I believe we drained down our battery because we didn't turn the battery cut off switch. We were able to eventually get enough juice when we hooked up to the tow vehicle, but I want to prevent this from happening moving forward. Where do I start?

Thanks!

danemayer

Hi buggyboo16,

If you have a panel that looks like this,
DSC01275.jpg

4 lights means fully charged. Except, if you're plugged into shore power, it's actually showing you the output of the Power Converter, not the battery. If you turn off the 120V AC circuit breaker for the Power Converter, or turn off the main circuit breakers, you'll get the battery reading.

The lack of power to the slides and jacks does suggest a drained battery. And you don't want to turn the battery cutoff to OFF while on shore power (only when in storage). When on shore power, the Power Converter changes 120V AC to 12V DC and keeps the battery charged. The Power Converter also supplies 12V to the fuses in your main fuse box, as does the battery.

What probably happened is that the 12V DC mini-circuit breaker near the battery has tripped and needs to be reset. That breaker is in the path between the Power Converter and the battery. When it trips, the battery doesn't get charged. And the battery will gradually drain. The classic symptom for this situation is that you unplug from shore power and all your interior lights immediately go out.