First time DIY winterization

2015 Heartland Prowler LX. Watched a few youtube videos since this is my first time. The videos had the pump sucking antifreeze into the system vs the hand pump I purchased from dealer.

Drained water from FW tank and low points on the drive back from Laramie (2.5-3hrs).
Turned on pump for 10 seconds with kitchen and bathroom faucet on. No water.
Opened pressure relief, closed FW tank valve and pushed air through fitting on city water connection.
Pulled drain plug on hot water tank, closed pressure relief valve.
Bypassed hot water tank.
I purchased and hand pump from RV dealer for flooding lines with antifreeze. This goes hooks up where the city water hookup is.
All 4 faucets (kitchen, bathroom sink, shower, outside shower) and toilet have antifreeze running through them.
Poured antifreeze in drains for trap. Poured antifreeze in toilet for ring.
Tomorrow pull batteries and place in garage.

Questions I have: does the water pump need antifreeze? Am I missing anything?

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I would run antifreeze through the pump or at minimum remove the filter bowl to drain what water is left in the bowl.
If you have a black tank flusher run some low pressure air through that.

Peace
Dave

david-steph2018

307Tailgater, I would run anti-freeze thru the pump, if there is water in the pump and it freezes. The pump could very well crack.
Also just asking, it sounds like you did things right, but did you run anti-freeze thru the hot water lines as well?

I would run antifreeze through the pump or at minimum remove the filter bowl to drain what water is left in the bowl.
If you have a black tank flusher run some low pressure air through that.

Peace
Dave