fridge and freezer not cooling

roads64

got a newbie here. just upgraded my old bumper pull trailer to a 2010 bighorn 3670rl and loving it! i travel for work so i figured i better be comfy while im doing it haha. but got a question about my fridge. ive never ran into this problem with my old trailer but my freezer and fridge stopped cooling. no codes or anything and its got power all fuses are good. where im at now its single digits and into the negs over night. is it possible its to cold outside and its freezing the cooling liquid or freeon or whatever they use these days? and its preventing it from cooling? like i said my old trailer never had problems and i was living in -30 temps during the winter. any info would be awesome. also my fridge is in a slide out so its exposed outside. thanks a bunch

jimtoo

Hi roads64,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

I don't think I have heard of the cold making the fridg not work. It is controlled by the thermostat inside the fridge. You need to make sure you have 12v to the unit, it must have 12v or it will not work. If you do, you might check outside under where the burner, heater is and see if you have a deposit of yellow liquid and powder. If you do then the cooling unit is probably out.

I'm sure some others will jump in also.

Enjoy the forum and let us know what you find.

Jim M

danemayer

Hi roads64,

What make and model refrigerator do you have?
Have you tried both electric and propane modes?
Is there anything blocking the air vents on the backside of the refrigerator?
Is the trailer level, especially front-to-rear?

TXTiger

Jim, I thought the fridge had to run on shore power, generator, or propane. Not sure if it runs on 12v. Can it run on the battery. Is the shore power and generator power bringing converted to 12v?

jimtoo