"Heater" Rocker Switch on Tank Level Monitor Panel

dlw930

i'm not sure this is the proper sub-forum, but didn't see a more appropriate one listed. I have a rocker switch labeled "heater" on the lower right of the tank and battery level panel. I looked in my owner manual where a photo showed this switch but didn't say what it is for. There's a separate toggle switch below the panel for the electric water heat. My guess is the switch on the panel is for the tank heaters. Am I right?

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
No, that switch turns on the propane side of the water heater. You can use both 110V and propane at the same time for faster hot water recovery. Unless you ordered heating pads for your tanks...you probably dont have them. I'm not sure they were even an option for a 2011 BC.

dlw930

Thanks Bob! We bought our BC used from a non-Heartland dealer, so our orientation was less than complete. 14 months later, I'm still learning what things are.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
Dave, try calling HL with your VIN#. They might just send you a build sheet with all the options your BC came with. Use the "tools" tab at the top of the page and you can download manuals on how all the equipment works.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
On using the water heater on propane, if the gas has been off for a time, light a stove burner for a minute or so to clear air from the lines (this also is good if starting the fridge on propane). Then flip the little switch to ON. It will try to light 3 times (you should be able to hear it click). If it can't, the little red LED next to the switch will light up. That means it's in LOCK OUT. Turn off the switch, wait 5 minutes, and try again. The wait is so that any gas in the burner tube can clear before more gets pumped in. Not waiting may give you a cannon shot and soiled shorts. You should be able to hear it when it lights. Sometimes getting the air out takes a bit.

TxCowboy