Outside outlets tripping ground fault

tljack

We have a 2014 3570RS Bighorn. This unit has 2 outside power lets that are tied to the GFI in the bathroom. No matter what I plug into either of these (including a basic polarity tester) they trip the GFI. Nothing is damp around them, in fact they are both bone dry. I have other outlets on the same circuit. Any suggestions about where to start looking for the problem? We are on the road for 8 mo. so do not get to service centers.

danemayer

Hi tljack,

I'm not an electrician, but I would cut the power and examine the back side of those two outlets for a loose wire. If everything looks ok, check other outlets in the basement storage area, the UDC, and the kitchen. Might be a good idea to cut power at the pedestal in case the outlet you're examining is on a different circuit breaker.

tljack

Hi tljack,

I'm not an electrician, but I would cut the power and examine the back side of those two outlets for a loose wire. If everything looks ok, check other outlets in the basement storage area, the UDC, and the kitchen. Might be a good idea to cut power at the pedestal in case the outlet you're examining is on a different circuit breaker.

Thanks for the suggestions. Will give it a try as soon as we get to our son's tomorrow.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Be sure to check, not only for loose wires, but that the wires are of the correct polarity.

Peace
Dave

wdk450