Power for washer dryer?? Help!

cosborne

A little history and run down before my questions. Also I am NOT an electrician.
I have a 2014 cyclone 4000, I purchased a splendide stackable washer and dryer today. I was looking around in the closet, found the receptical and there was only one outlet. This tells me the rig was intended to have a combo unit. I thought I could just replace the receptical with one with two outlets. The drier manual recommends a dedicated 15 amp breaker. So I went to see what breaker the line was on. Had to turn off each breaker to see which one it was, since who ever labeled it was just learning to write so I couldn't read any of them. The only breaker that would turn off the outlet was the 50 amp main. So I pulled the cover and all of the romex only hooks to smaller breakers, can't figure out where it's hooked up. the romex to the outlet is 14 gauge.
Questions:
1. Does anyone know where the outlet could be getting power without tracing the wire?

2. Should I run 2 new 12 gauge romex lines to the closet to two separate outlets and add a 15/15 amp breaker in the box?

3. Would it be safe to use a single 14 gauge line to power a dual outlet on the 50 amp main breaker to run the washer and drier simultaneously? Leaning towards no.

4. Should I just have an electrician come and do what needs to be done? I am confident that I could do the work just not confident in the decision as to which route to go.

danemayer

We have the Splendide stackables and I seem to recall measuring close to 14 amps while running just the dryer. The washer manual says it takes 4 amps.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
That receptacle has to be on a breaker somewhere. You will need to recheck by plugging a lamp into it and start turning off breakers one by one.
You will need to have two dedicated circuits to utilize a washer and dryer.