Making sense of the tire talk

SeattleLion

I think I am pretty typical. We bought our first RV a TT last June. In February we sold it and bought a Bighorn. So we are fairly new to all of this RV stuff. Reading the dire posts about the Tow Max tires caused me considerable anxiety until I started thinking about it. While I am new to RV's, I am not new to tire issues. Over the last few years I have done performance (on the race track) driving. To do that safely, you need to understand a lot about tires and tire performance. Consistent driving over 100 MPH puts special demands on a car and its tires.

I learned about loading, heating, etc. This is very relevant here. First of all there is no real evidence that the Tow Max tires are any better or worse than any other load range E tire. There seems to be a strong feeling that Chinese products are inferior. This further fed the idea that the OEM tires are dangerous. Since I don't want to ignite further debate, for this post let's leave it with the fact that we just don't know if the Tow Max tire is better or worse than any other ST LR E out there. (There aren't many)

If we start with that premise, I think we can get to the root cause of all this tire concern. I really think the problem is that Load Range E tires are too close in capacity to many of our trailers. As far as I can tell, the Tow Max LR E tires have a static load rating at about 3,000 lbs. That gives them a 12,000 lb total load capacity for the two axles. My 3160 is about 12,000 lbs dry. 2,100 lbs go to the hitch, leaving 9,100 lbs on the wheels. Add 1,500 lbs of load and the wheels are carrying about 10,000 lbs. This is about 85% of capacity. Now it is very unlikely that my load will be evenly balanced across the trailer, so one side will be carrying more than 5,000 lbs. So there is a risk of pushing the tires on one side closer to capacity.